Harrison member named Colo Teacher of the Year

CEA President Kerrie Dallman congratulates Harrison member Christina Randle

Christina Gillette Randle, a first-grade teacher at Soaring Eagles Elementary in Colorado Springs, was named the 2018 Colorado Teacher of the Year in a surprise announcement by Dr. Katy Anthes, Colorado’s Commissioner of Education, at a school assembly, Oct 27.

“Christina Randle challenges herself not only in the classroom, but in every facet of her profession. She is passionate, respected and incredibly knowledgeable,” said Anthes in her remarks to the students and faculty. “She goes above her normal teaching duties by sending pictures, texts and short messages to families, keeping them up-to-date on their students' days. She recognizes the uniqueness of each of her students.”

  ** YouTube video of award presentation **

The Colorado Education Association is a longtime sponsor of the Colorado Teacher of the Year Award, and will provide Randle with a stipend to travel in her new role and networking opportunities with past Colorado Teachers of the Year. CEA President Kerrie Dallman attended the ceremony to congratulate Randle, who is a member of the Harrison Association for Education Employees.

“Ms. Randle inspires a lot of people outside of this school too,” said Dallman, a high school social studies teacher, to the students of Soaring Eagles. “She is so good at teaching math, she often helps other teachers in this district and across the state with their lesson plans for their students. Lots of educators visit Ms. Randle to see what a model classroom should look like, and that's a big part of why she is Teacher of the Year.”

  ** YouTube video of Ms. Dallman's remarks **

"I thank you for your smiles, and your hugs, and your love, and your effort. I appreciate all of you coming to school and being ready to learn," Randle said to her students after receiving the award. "I hope you guys realize how much your teachers love you, and how much your teachers care for you, and how much your teachers want you to be successful. We do everything because we see potential in you."

  ** YouTube video of Ms. Randle's remarks **

Randle will compete for the National Teacher of the Year Award and will be honored with other state Teachers of the Year at a White House ceremony. Three more CEA members were finalists for the 2018 Colorado Teacher of the Year Award: Renee Motter (Air Academy High, Academy EA), Wendy Murphy (Woodmen Hills Elementary, Falcon Teachers EA), and Amy Rehberg (Horizon High, District Twelve EA).