CEA releases member voting recommendations for Election 2018

As the #RedForEd movement sweeps across the nation, educators are predicting a massive national turnout for candidates and ballot measures supporting students and public education in 2018. Releasing their CEA Your Voter Guide, the Colorado Education Association is confident that its 35,000 members will have a huge impact on the election, building on the momentum of three Days of Action in April that drew more than 15,000 teachers and support staff to the State Capitol.

“Educators in Colorado are demanding better funding and support for our students. The state with one of the fastest growing economies in the country should not be shortchanging our students by $672 million in this school year,” stated CEA President Amie Baca-Oehlert, a high school counselor. “We have a tremendous opportunity before us to elect a governor and state legislators who want students to thrive in great public schools in every part of the state, who want to raise pay to reverse our crippling educator shortage, and who want to listen to educator voices and hear our ideas for giving our students the schools they deserve.”

Educators are energized by the prospect of passing Amendment 73, the school funding measure. The passing of Amendment 73 would raise $1.6 billion annually to provide equitable funding for all Colorado schools by asking those benefiting the most from Colorado’s growth—corporations and the wealthy—to contribute a little more.

“Strong public schools are the backbone of healthy communities. Amendment 73 will give schools the funding they desperately need so we can prepare our students to be good citizens and make positive contributions to society,” Baca-Oehlert added.

Colorado spends $2,800 less than the national average per student and has the least competitive teacher wages in the country. Approximately 92% of Coloradans would not see their tax bill increase under Amendment 73. The measure would give communities local control over additional school investments and fund full-day kindergarten for all students and support for special education programs and English language learners.

Educators are also leading the charge in many communities to pass bonds for school construction and repair, and mill levy overrides that communities typically use to improve security, maintenance and technology, and reduce class sizes so students receive more one-on-one attention with teachers.

For months bipartisan teams of CEA members interviewed candidates for public office and reviewed state and local ballot initiatives to give the membership an informed opinion on how educator votes can make a positive difference for their profession and for their students in federal, state and local elections. Baca-Oehlert encourages all CEA members to review the following recommendations formed by their colleagues and “vote for the candidates and issues that will make a difference for your students and for your profession.”

CEA Recommended Candidates & Issues, Election 2018

U.S. Representatives

Congressional District 1 Diana DeGette
Congressional District 2 Joe Neguse
Congressional District 3 Diane Mitsch Bush
Congressional District 4 Karen McCormick
Congressional District 6 Jason Crow
Congressional District 7 Ed Perlmutter


State Offices

Governor Jared Polis
Treasurer Dave Young
Secretary of State Jena Griswold
Attorney General Phil Weiser
State Board of Education, CD-2 Angelika Schroeder
State Board of Education, CD-4 Tim Krug
CU Regent, At-Large Lesley Smith
CU Regent, CD-3 Alvin Rivera
CU Regent, CD-5 Dr. Tony Wolusky


Colorado Senate

Senate District  1 Debra Gustafson
Senate District  3 Leroy Garcia
Senate District  5 Kerry Donovan
Senate District  11 Pete Lee
Senate District  15 Rebecca Cranston
Senate District  16 Tammy Story
Senate District  20 Jessie Danielson
Senate District  22 Brittany Pettersen
Senate District  24 Faith Winter
  Senate District  32   Robert Rodriquez
  Senate District  34   Julie Gonzales


Colorado House

House District 1 Susan Lontine
House District 2 Alec Garnett
House District 3 Jeff Bridges
House District 4 Serena Gonzales-Gutierrez
House District 6 Chris Hansen
House District 8 Leslie Herod
House District 9 Emily Sirota
House District 10 Edie Hooton
House District 11 Jonathan Singer
House District 12 Sonya Lewis
House District 13 K.C. Becker
House District 17 Tony Exum, Sr.
House District 18 Mark Snyder
House District 20 Kent Jarnig
House District 21 Liz Rosenbaum
House District 22 Todd Kastetter
House District 23 Chris Kennedy
House District 24 Monica Duran
House District 25 Lisa Cutter
House District 26 Dylan Roberts
House District 27 Brianna Titone
House District 28 Kerry Tipper
House District 29 Tracy Kraft-Tharp
House District 30 Dafna Michaelson Jenet
House District 31 Yadira Caraveo
House District 32 Adrienne Benavidez
House District 33 Matt Gray
  House District 34   Kyle Mullica
House District 35 Shannon Bird
House District 36 Mike Weissman
House District 37 Tom Sullivan
House District 38 Chris Kolker
House District 40 Janet Buckner
  House District 41   Jovan Melton
House District 42 Dominique Jackson
House District 46 Daneya Esgar
House District 47 Bri Buentello
House District 50 Rochelle Galindo
House District 52 Joann Ginal
House District 53 Jeni Arndt
House District 56 Dave Rose
House District 59 Barbara McLachlan
House District 61 Julie McCluskie
House District 62 Donald Valdez


Statewide Ballot Issues

Amendment 73 – Great Schools, Thriving Communities Support
  Amendment 74 – Just Compensation   Oppose
  Proposition 109 – Fix Our Damn Roads   Oppose
  Proposition 111 – Payday Loans   Support
Amendment Y – Congressional Redistricting Support
Amendment Z – Legislative Redistricting Support
  Amendment A – Prohibiting Slavery and Involuntary Servitude   Support


Local Mill Levy Override and Bond Campaigns

Adams 12 – Adams 12 CAN for Kids Support
Aurora – Aurora Citizens for Excellent Schools Support
Clear Creek Co. – Friends of the Clear Creek School District Support
Eaton – Investing in Our Children Support
Jefferson Co. – We Are JEFFCO Support
Lamar – Friends of Lamar Public Schools Support
Lewis Palmer – Strong D38 Community Support
Littleton – Citizens for Littleton Public Schools Support
Sheridan – Citizens for Sheridan Students First Support
Thompson Valley – Vote Yes for Thompson Students Support
Trinidad – Trinidad for Children Support
Westminster – Residents for the Advancement of WPS Support