Press Release: Adams 12 Business Teacher Hilary Wimmer Named 2020 Colorado Teacher of the Year

Mike Wetzel
Colorado Education Association
Andy Boian
dovetail solutions
720.221.9211 office
303.868.0085 cell


Oct. 23, 2019

Westminster Business Teacher Hilary Wimmer Named 2020 Colorado Teacher of the Year

WESTMINSTER, Colo. – Hilary Wimmer, a business teacher at Mountain Range High School, was named the 2020 Colorado Teacher of the Year today in a surprise announcement by Dr. Katy Anthes, Colorado’s Commissioner of Education, at a school assembly.

“I’m honored to present this award to Hilary Wimmer, who inspires a culture of learning in her students that lasts long after graduation,” said Anthes. “Mrs. Wimmer is a bridge builder, a connector and a perfect representative of the kind of passionate and dedicated teachers who work tirelessly every day in Colorado. Mrs. Wimmer has helped students become financially literate, upstanding civic leaders and successful in their life’s decisions. We are all fortunate to have her as a teacher in our state.”

Photo: Hilary Wimmer is joyful upon receiving the 2020 Colorado Teacher of the Year Award from Colorado Commissioner of Education Katy Anthes, Oct 23

The Colorado Education Association is a longtime sponsor of the Colorado Teacher of the Year Award, and will provide Wimmer with a stipend to travel in her new role and networking opportunities with past Colorado Teachers of the Year. CEA President Amie Baca-Oehlert attended the ceremony to congratulate Wimmer, who is a member of District Twelve Educators’ Association.

“I’ve traveled and visited with teachers all over the state and Hilary exemplifies what it means to be the best of the best,” said Baca-Oehlert, a high school guidance counselor, to the students of Mountain Range High. “Hilary is one of those teachers who cares about her students on a personal level; someone who helps bring out the very best in her students and Mountain Range High School couldn’t be any luckier to have her.”

Photo: Colorado’s 2020 Teacher of the Year, Hilary Wimmer (second from left) is congratulated by Kim McLachlan and Dave Lockley (president) of the District Twelve Educators’ Association, and Amie Baca-Oehlert, president of the Colorado Education Association, Oct 23

Wimmer began teaching business in 2004 and was part of the inaugural staff at Mountain Range High School in Westminster in 2006. She leads the largest DECA program in Colorado, and in 2016 she was recognized as the Colorado DECA Advisor of the Year. Wimmer serves as the Career and Technical Education (CTE) department chair and business program coordinator for Mountain Range High School and as the CTE content coordinator for the district.

Wimmer will compete for the National Teacher of the Year Award and will be honored with other state Teachers of the Year at a White House ceremony. The six finalists for the 2020 Colorado Teacher of the Year Award are Justin Bankey (Cactus Valley Elementary School, Garfield Re-2 and West Garfield EA member); Richard Green (Shelledy Elementary School, Mesa Valley School District No. 51 and Mesa Valley EA member); Claudia Ladd (McMeen Elementary School, Denver Public Schools); Machin Norris (Franklin Middle School, Greeley-Evans School District 6), Erika Siemieniec (Sand Creek High School, School District 49 and Falcon Teachers EA member), and William Yerger (Horizon Middle School, School District 49).

Photo: Colorado’s 2020 Teacher of the Year, Hilary Wimmer (middle) is joined by current Colorado Teacher of the Year Meg Cypress (left) and 2018 Colorado Teacher of the Year Christina Randle; all three are members of the Colorado Education Association

# # #